Any similarity between these boths texts is (not) merely a coincidence.

Bird In a Golden Cage

You are a beautiful bird
Caught in a golden cage.
With a glamourous life
Surrounded by spotlights
Stuck on the center
Of the fame’s stage.

I am a free bird
I can fly wherever I wish
But I’ve given up my freedom
To stay beside you
For such a love you’ve never seen.

And now I hear my freedom calling.
Perhaps because
I see you’re used to that life?
Should I stay beside you for my love?
Or should I fly?

Yes, I know, my current song
Makes no sense, but,
Could you tell me, please,
What am I supposed to do?

I see your cage…
Beautiful…
Yet, a cage.

And I love you so much…
That I give up my freedom,
The gift I appreciate most,
I give up on it,
Just to give it to you…

Clara Maria Cristina Borges de Medeiros
Rio de Janeiro, August 17, 2011.

***************************************************************************************************

False Alarms
Josh Groban

Far across this weird horizon
I have woken down the line
I am picking up the pieces
That this storm has left behind

After all the clouds are fallen
I would breach the better ground
Turn your darkness into lightning
Turn your silence into sound

And i can’t cage you in my arms
When my heart is jumping forward
To avoid your false alarms
And you can’t tell me that you stay
When i open up the window
And i watched you fly away

Have you raise the final anchor?
Have you cut the last sail free?
Sending off into redemption
Like a funeral at sea

I will always hear the calling
You’re the sway of falling leafs
Like a bird you spiral onward
And you know just where i’ll be

And i can’t cage you in my arms
When my heart is jumping forward
To avoid your false alarms
And you can’t tell me that you stay
When i open up the window
And i watched you fly away

I am closing up my window
Til i see a blue horizon
And the quiet calm of love
Will fly my way

2 Comments

  1. You are claiming somebody stole something from someone? I see no real similarity between these other than the words “fly” and “cage.” Do you know how may thousands upon thousands of songs about caged birds have been written in the English language? There is nothing new under the sun and no real reason to accuse any songwriter of theft without overt knowledge of that theft.

    Like

    • Have you read the word “stole” mentioned in the title? No. Correct? So perhaps you should read it again and figure out that I’m not talking about “stolen words” but about a DIALOGUE between the both texts. Next time, try to read it from the right perspective!

      Like

Leave a Reply

