Cage

I’m a bird with broken wings…

And with you I felt like I could fly…

I believed I would really fly someday…

But every morning when I wake up,

Everything I see are just the barrs of this cage…

Then I catch myself wondering :

What do I do with this horrible feeling?

I’m a bird with broken wings…

That have already seen so many dreams break up

One more, one less, wouldn’t make any difference…

But sometimes I still rather believing

That there can be a reality better than this one I live…

And you are this sweet reality I’ve built to my heart…

Since my wings are just useless

Because I’m a bird that can not fly.

Aw if I only could find a way…

If I could heal my wings and just fly to you…

If  I could just run to you, it doesn’t matter how…

If instead of just dreaming of you,

I could just write and build this reality

This one, that you’ve taught me to believe

I could reach someday…

But I’m just a bird with broken wings…

And this cage will never allow me to fly…

And I have nothing but just hope for a miracle

That you can find me…

That you can take me in your arms…

That you can heal my broken wings…

So I’ll can fly with you wherever you go…

 
Clara Maria Cristina Borges de Medeiros

Itaboraí, May 28. 2011.

1 Comment

  1. It is human. We all feel like caged, sometimes. It is good, poetry gives us some wings.

    Like

Leave a Reply

