There Are Colors in NY

A scenary I’ve never seen…
A place where I’ve never been…
Painted always grey and dark into my eyes
From movies, books,
In its forever cold skies…

What as for me, brazilian girl?
Always used to colors and sun!
Blue, green, yellow, red!
Joy in festival, rythm and heat!

Do I dare say, there are colors in NY?
I guess I do…
There are flowers at the Central Park
There are birdies,
Dogs and children playing around…

There are couples, and spring
There are White Christmases
And romantic stories in the fall…
Yes! There are colors in NY!

Colors that I can see…
Throught my beloved one’s eyes
That I hope soon to meet
And…
Who knows someday…
I might translate them
In lyrics all my own.

Clara Maria Cristina Borges de Medeiros
Itaboraí, May 26, 2011.

Leave a Reply

