What if I told you that I love you?

With no other intention but to say it…
Like someone who expects nothing…
And what if I said it
With a sly look of a mischevous child
Who hides her lane manner under a shiny angel’s halo?

What would you tell me,
If I told you that I love you?

Even knowing all of it
Is nothing but big joke,
Dangerous by the way…
Yet sweet and delicious,
Subtly scandalous,
With a touch of angelic innocence.

So, guy?
What would you tell me?

What if  at a moment of insane daring
I left aside the wisdom depth,
And by impulse I shouted to the world
What now I turn into poetry,
These words I want to silence,
And asked you with no formality or politeness:
What would you tell me,
If I told you that I love you?

Clara Maria Cristina Borges de Medeiros
Itaboraí, November 17th, 2010.

Leave a Reply

