Butterfly on Window Pane

Butterfly on Window Pane

I can see the world out there… 
It is so vast, so delightful, and beautiful…
I see its colors, and I know: there is my place!
But I’m here, behind this glass…

I lift up my wings…
I run to fly…
But in every trying
This glass just keep me inside…

I hear the world out there…
All its songs, and every amazing culture…
All peoples voices, I wanna be near of them!
But this glass just keep me inside…

Then I cry…
Perhaps I’ll never get my chance…
Perhaps this window will never get open…

And I lift up my wings…
I run to fly…
Please, let me feel the wind!
Let me see the colors
Of the world outside!

Clara Maria Cristina Borges de Medeiros
Itaboraí, March 3, 2010.

Leave a Reply

